Farewell, and Thanks for the Memories

goodbyeThe time has some to retire the Libraries and Transliteracy project.

Our purpose was to introduce the concept of transliteracy to librarianship at large. There are now whole conferences and workshops dedicated to the idea of transliteracy in all types of libraries. It is included in job titles, job descriptions, and grant proposals, and of course it has sparked much discussion. With this permeation of the concept we feel the time has come to move on. The site will remain as a resource and reference point. Many of us will continue to work with the concept of transliteracy in our own work.

I would like to thank my current and past co-authors, it has been an honor working with them on such an important project.

But most importantly –  thank you to our readers over the years, we appreciate your support!

All the best
Bobbi

9 Responses to “Farewell, and Thanks for the Memories”

  1. Farewell, and Thanks for the Memories « Libraries and Transliteracy | Information skills | Scoop.it Says:

    […] The time has some to retire the Libraries and Transliteracy project. Our purpose was to introduce the concept of transliteracy to librarianship at large. There are now whole conferences and workshops dedicated to the idea of …  […]

  2. John M. Jackson Says:

    Thanks for all the great ideas and thoughts! This blog has had a great run. What’s next for you?

    • Bobbi Newman Says:

      John – I can’t speak for my co-authors – I know many of them have seen some major life changes both personally and professionally over the last year so their answers probably vary widely.

      As for myself I am back in school pursuing a second Masters degree, inspired in part by the work I’ve done with transliteracy.I had hoped to maintain my online work but the demands of my program, and life, have worked against that. It has been hard to come to terms with the idea that I cannot do all the things I would like it, including keeping up this blog. I am still working on library issues, including transliteracy, just on a different path. 🙂

  3. Gail Hussey Says:

    Thanks for all the inspiration and sharing with others.

  4. Michael Henry Starks Says:

    Sorry to see this come to an end. But you’re right in saying the subject is on its way to entering the mainstream of librarianship.


Comments are closed.