Nine Themes of Digital Citizenship

What is digital Citizenship?

Digital Citizenship is a concept which helps teachers, technology leaders and parents to understand what students/children/technology users should know to use technology appropriately. Digital Citizenship is more than just a teaching tool; it is a way to prepare students/technology users for a society full of technology. Too often we are seeing students as well as adults misusing and abusing technology but not sure what to do. The issue is more than what the users do not know but what is considered appropriate technology usage.

The Digital Citizenship website shares its 9 Elements of Digital Citizenship. There is a nice break down of each one and more information on the website.

Digital citizenship can be defined as the norms of appropriate, responsible behavior with regard to technology use.

  1. Digital Etiquette: electronic standards of conduct or procedure.
  2. Digital Communication: electronic exchange of information.
  3. Digital Literacy: process of teaching and learning about technology and the use of technology.
  4. Digital Access: full electronic participation in society.
  5. Digital Commerce: electronic buying and selling of goods.
  6. Digital Law: electronic responsibility for actions and deeds
  7. Digital Rights & Responsibilities: those freedoms extended to everyone in a digital world.
  8. Digital Health & Wellness: physical and psychological well-being in a digital technology world.

The publications page links to articles about digital citizenship, for more reading

  • Digital Security (self-protection): electronic precautions to guarantee safety.
  • One Response to “Nine Themes of Digital Citizenship”

    1. Tweets that mention Nine Themes of Digital Citizenship « Libraries and Transliteracy -- Says:

      […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Bobbi Newman, Chris Grant and Book Mobilize , Sara Thompson. Sara Thompson said: Nine Themes of Digital Citizenship […]

    Comments are closed.

    %d bloggers like this: