Logo Contest Entry – John LeMasney

We have our first logo entry from John LeMasney, designer of the awesome ALA Battledecks logo.  John writes

I love design challenges, Libraries, and Anna, so this one was a no brainer. So the first thing I did was make sure I had a clear understanding of transliteracy and how it related to libraries, and so I dod some research, starting but not ending with the ubiquitous Wikipedia entry, which gave me a good start, defining Transliteracy as:

“Transliteracy is The ability to read, write and interact across a range of platforms, tools and media from signing and orality through handwriting, print, TV, radio and film, to digital social networks. (PART 2007) The modern meaning of the term combines literacy with the prefix trans-, which means “across; through”, so a transliterate person is one who is literate across multiple media.” from Transliteracy – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia at Sun Jul 18 2010 14:12:31 GMT-0400 (EST) on http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Transliteracy

A few other sources extended, reinforced and clarified the definition. Thanks for the nudge, Anna, and I hope my answer gets to the finals!

Have an idea for a logo? Send it to me by July 31st!

8 Responses to “Logo Contest Entry – John LeMasney”

  1. justinthelibrarian Says:

    I love this one. So very much!

  2. angie Says:

    As a graphic designer who stumbled across this via twitter, i thought my input might be helpful. My opinion is the concept is sound, but the design needs could be pushed further design wise.

    The typography needs a little help as the tracking is too tight and the kerning is bad, particularly the transliteracy part which makes it hard to read.

    Toss the clipart, and draw your own icons! First reason is all the icons are in different styles which makes the logo look cluttered and ametuerish. Secondly the licenseing for your clipart does not allow for use in a logo, so legally you can’t use it in this manner. If you draw your own icons and render them in a vector program you’ll be better able to play with the composition of the logo.

    Sorry if I come off sounding critical but I do see potential, it just needs more work to get there. :)

  3. Top Ten Links Week 29 | Librarian by Day Says:

    […] Logo Contest Entry – John LeMasney « Libraries and Transliteracy – Libraries and Transliteracy needs a logo so we’ve opened up […]

  4. anna Says:

    this entry just reaffirms my love for john’s work! and i agree with heather — the media images help define the concept. my vote is with this one.

  5. Heather Braum Says:

    I like this one the best; having the different medium clipart helps you quickly begin to understand what transliteracy is.

  6. bjneary Says:

    Love John’s logo!

  7. lemasney Says:

    That’s funny, I just noticed now how closely the colors match your site’s theme. Maybe not complete coincidence, but I wasn’t actively color matching. Thanks again for the opportunity!

  8. Tweets that mention Logo Contest Entry – John LeMasney « Libraries and Transliteracy -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Bobbi Newman, Ann Markström. Ann Markström said: RT @librarianbyday: Logo Contest Entry – John LeMasney « Libraries and Transliteracy http://wp.me/pO3fW-eb […]


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 272 other followers

